• July 17, 2023

New Faces in Parliament Leadership

New Faces in Parliament Leadership
Share on

Following his re-election as Speaker of the Sixth Parliament of the Second Republic of Sierra Leone, Dr. Abass Bundu after emerging as winner by a simple majority of ninety-two – 92 votes in the fourth rounds of voting, the Speaker of the House wasted no time in announcing Hon. Sarh Emerson Lamina as the Deputy to the Deputy Leader of Government Business, Hon. Basiru Silikie, with Hon. Mathew S. Nyuma retained the Leader of Government Business.

Hon. Ibrahim Tawah Conteh was promoted as the Deputy to the Deputy Chief Whip, Hon Veronica Kadie Sesay whiles Hon. Dickson Rogers also retained Chief Whip of the House.

The promotion of both MPs did not come as a surprise following their outstanding performances in the Fifth Parliament of the Second Republic.

Hon. Emerson S. Lamina was the leader for the Collation for Change – C4C in the Fifth Parliament.

During the Fifth Parliament, Hon. Lamina served as Chairman of the Parliamentary Committee of Mines and Mineral Resources. The MP was known for his critical stances whenever mining related issues are tabled for debates or enactments.

With the advent of the Proportional Representation and the District Block system, saw Hon. Lamina with five other C4C MPs tent with the ruling Sierra Leone People’s Party (SLPP) for fear of them unable to pull the 11.9% which is approximately over thirty thousand votes to enable anyone of them to secure a seat in the well of parliament.

The said decision by Hon Lamina and other yielded them much dividend as they have made it back to parliament under the ticket of the governing SLPP party.

Hon. Ibrahim Tawah Conteh is on record as the only SLPP parliamentary aspirant that secured a parliamentary seat for his party in the Western Area in the 2018 elections, following the All People’s Congress-APC party refusal to award him a parliamentary symbol.

Hon. Sengepoh Solomon Thomas, Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Fifth Parliament and Head of Sierra Leone Pan-Africa Parliament secured ninety-five votes to retain the Deputy Speakership of the Sixth Parliament of the Second Republic of Sierra Leone.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *