• December 19, 2023


Share on

All-Africa Students Union (AASU) has honoured distinguished Africans, including the group chief executive officer (GCEO) of the Nigerian National Petroleum Company Limited (NNPCL), Malam Mele Kolo Kyari and the managing director (MD) of Rokel Commercial Bank Sierra Leone Limited, Dr Waltone Gilpin in recognition of their contributions and positive impacts on the young people in the continent.

They were presented with the insignia of commendation by the international president of AASU, Osisiogu Enyinnaya, at the weekend in Abuja.

Enyinnaya said Kyari was honoured by the African students “for the capitalisation of the Nigerian National Petroleum Company Limited, under the sterling leadership of Malam Mele Kyari”, and for making “Africa proud, being so capitalised and being a model on the continent.”

Others who were honoured at the event included, Dr Daysman Oyakhilome of the Loveworld Global Fellowship, who is the president of the United Youth of Africa Nation (UYAN); Dr Gloria Kudi Ahmed, the national coordinator, Open Government Partnership (OGP) Nigeria and director of Special Duties, Federal Ministry of Finance, Budget and National Planning, for her contribution; and Chief Charles Okechukwu Anyanwu, the group of chairman of DCL Group for his contributions to the laboratory development space.

Others were Comrade Ademola Babatunde, a 2019 presidential candidate; Barr. Paul Edeh, the founder of the Naija Ratels Football Club, who has developed young persons over the years and has been part of sports development, not only in Nigeria but in Africa; Alhaji Abba Musa, the Director of Corporate Services North East Development Commission; and Dr Reuben Abati of Arise Television, among others.

The president of AASU explained that the awardees were recognised for contributing “positively to Africa’s quest for development in their various fields. And we’re doing this to encourage them to do more so that we have a better Africa.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *